ATLANTA (March 5, 2017) – SECO has announced the recipients of its 2017 awards, recognizing significant contributions to the profession of optometry. Steven Reed, O.D., has been named Optometrist of the South, SECO’s highest honor; Matthew Jones, O.D., received SECO’s Young Optometrist of the South award and Curtis Turner, Jr., has been named Paraoptometric of the South. In addition, Lowell H. Gilbert, O.D., has been awarded posthumously the President’s Award. The awards will be presented to the recipients during the SECO International House of Delegates meeting on March 4, 2017.

“SECO is proud to recognize several outstanding individuals for their significant contributions to the optometry profession, including Dr. Gilbert, who is a past president of SECO and the Virginia Optometric Association and will long be remembered for his contribution and dedication to the profession,” said Dr. Ted McElroy, president of SECO International. “This year, we also honor Dr. Reed, Dr. Jones and Mr. Turner not only for their individual achievements in their respective states, but for raising the standard of optometric care that patients throughout the country receive today. They should be applauded for their many accomplishments and unwavering commitment to the optometry profession.”
Steven Reed, OD
Steven Reed, ODOD of the South
Matthew Jones, OD
Matthew Jones, ODYoung Optometrist of the South
Curtis Turner, Jr.
Curtis Turner, Jr.Paraoptometric of the South
Lowell Gilbert, OD
Lowell Gilbert, ODPresident's Award


The annual SECO meeting is produced by SECO International, LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of the Southern Council of Optometrists, Inc. SECO International, headquartered in Atlanta, Georgia, is a not-for-profit association founded in 1923 boasting an approximate membership globally of 25,000. The annual SECO Congress regularly attracts more than 7,000 national and international eye care professionals, vendors, and allied ophthalmic personnel. SECO International is widely acknowledged as the largest optometric educational meeting in the world.

For more information on SECO International, LLC, please contact Elizabeth Taylor DeMayo, Executive Director, at SECO International, LLC, 4661 N. Shallowford Road, Atlanta, GA 30338, or by phone: (770) 451-8206, fax: (770) 451-3156, or e-mail: